Feeling Worthy

Often we feel inadequate, somehow not enough. We feel that we ought to do more, be more and have more than what we currently are in order to meet the standards. We go to great lengths to fulfill these expectations, that are in fact just our own, for there are no other standards than those we place ourselves.

I, too, have struggled all my life with my feelings of unworthy. I have always felt, that I’m somehow inferior to others and yet there has never been any real cause for me to feel this way. Except perhaps, how I felt about my body. I have never been a physical person and therefore not very happy with my body image. I’ve always thought it should look different, more athletic, firm and tough.

I have done Louise Hay’s Mirror Work on and off. It has, of course, helped me a great deal, but somehow I have still felt inadequate. I still felt guilty doing something I loved alone without sharing it with my loved ones. I still felt I had no right to have pleasures of my own. I still felt shame, how my body looked like. The mirror work has of course laid a great ground work, but it did not resolve the issue itself.

This spring I then came across Erin Stutland and her amazing Shrink Sessions workout program. She has quite a unique way to combine physical exercise and affirmations. And making it fun at the same time! For the first time ever these affirmations came alive in a brand new way for me. It seemed, that moving my body while saying these affirmations made them seem more true to me. For first time in a long, long while (ever since my childhood) I begun to enjoy movement and sports.

My body, like everyone’s body, wants and loves to move. My body, like everyone’s body will, also responded eagerly and willingly to my new self-care. I could see the changes in weeks if not even in days! Suddenly there were muscles to be seen, where there never had been before! My stomach was toning up! Don’t get me wrong, I’m still no athlete, I do only half an hours worth of exercise a day, and I still do have cellulite and sagging pieces, but in spite of all this I have truly begun to love my body unconditionally. I have begun unashamedly to admire any and all progress and change it makes. Even the tiniest, tiniest steps. I have begun to make more healthier choices in general and speak to and about my body more lovingly and admiringly giving it the credit it deserves.

And what you know! The better I begun to feel in my own skin the more worthy I also begun to feel. No more were there feelings of guilt doing things by myself without sharing them with others. No more feelings of inadequacy, in fact what others think has begun to mean nothing to me! No more shame of how my body looks like, on the contrary I feel very proud of it with the cellulite and all. I’m proud of its eagerness to please me.

If you too, like I did, struggle with you feelings of worthiness, I encourage you to try something totally different for a change. Try physical exercise! Go dancing, lift weights, run! Whatever feels good to you! It just might be the secret you have been looking for all through your life. It was for me!

Find out more about Shrink Sessions here http://shrinksessionworkout.com/

2016-04-26-16-03-06a

Leave a Reply

