Our Darkness

“I really believe that all of us have a lot of darkness in our souls… I think in the course of your life you figure out ways to deal with that.” This is a quote by Kevin Bacon that I read the other day. It really resonated with me. This was something I already seemed to know. I believe, that even if we all came to this beautiful Earth, just to have fun and fulfill any dreams we might pick up along the way, we also chose some aspects of our lives beforehand. And I believe we chose our darkness.

I believe deep in our souls we all are an expression of the same loving kindness. But we cannot know ourselves as something good if we don’t know the opposite of it. That is the only way we could really learn anything about ourselves. So I believe we chose our darkness, the opposite of what we are, to teach us more of who we really are. I’m quite sure we were confident, that we could figure out a way to deal with this darkness. So the way we handle it, will define us.

Dr. Wayne Dyer had a saying that if you squeeze an orange, orange juice comes out, never apple juice. What comes out when life squeezes you, is what you have inside. How I wish I could say, it is  loving kindness for me, but more than often it is impatience, intolerance or plain right anger. I believe though that I have myself chosen these feelings, I have chosen my own darkness, because I believed I would figure out a way to deal with it. And every day I am learning how to change what life squeezes out of me.

Whenever I now-a-days feel impatience, or intolerance, or even anger raise their little heads, I remind myself that deep in my soul I AM the opposite of all that. That when I chose to experience these feelings, it was only to know myself better. I have come to believe, that we should not so much fight our darkness, but to embrace it. It will tell us exactly how we have planned to know ourselves in this lifetime.

So whenever you feel impatience, intolerance, jealousy, anger, or any other negative feeling, know you are in fact the exact opposite of these feelings. Trust that you will figure out a way to deal with them. Because deep down in your soul, you are the loving kindness itself embodied.

dsc_9554

Leave a Reply

