Seasons of Soul

In the nature there are definite seasons during a year. There are warm and sunny times, when everything is full of energy and seems to grow in the eyes, and then there are darker and colder times, when everything rests. I have noticed in my own life, that there might be similar seasons in human lives too.

During summertime, when sun is shining and it is warm and there is light almost all day round, I am always so full of energy. My energy is not depleted no matter how much I do. Working long hours, exercising, doing long hikes is no problem while at the same time taking care of the house chores. Keeping up a regular routine is no task at all and I even sleep less. It isn’t an effort for me to wake up early and go to bed late. I just simply am not tired in the summertime.

But come winter and November, when days get shorter, colder and darker, and I seem to lose all my energy. I feel sluggish and tired all the time. Nothing seems to excite me anymore. I’d rather just sleep.  I am not up to keeping up any routines and everything else also seems to be a struggle for me. I am tired the moment I wake up in the morning and napping is not an excluded option for me during this time. Apparently my body just wants to rest and repose. I almost envy bears, who get to sleep all through this dark season we now have here in the north!

Maybe it is so, that we humans need the same kind of a rest as the whole of the other Nature seems to be having. I once heard Ahlea Khadro say in a Hay House World Summit interview, that we are just not meant to thrive all the year round the same kind of a way. So I have decided to be kind and forgiving towards myself during this time and not place too many demands on myself or my time. No self guilt or blaming for the rest I’m taking. There will be another spring and another time to thrive coming up. Until then I will just take it easy. I will allow myself to take all the rest I need and I will still love  myself exactly the way I am. For I am worth it.

So my friend, if at any time during the year you should feel not your best self, be easy about it. Another time for thriving will soon come up for you, too! Show compassion and kindness to yourself. Take all the time you need, but love yourself the same. You are worth it.

dsc_2069

Leave a Reply

