About Contrast

There’s contrast (unwanted things) everywhere. Contrast allows us to know ourselves better and to know what we prefer. We cannot truly know that, if we don’t know the opposite of it first. How would we know ourselves as abundant, if we didn’t know, what being poor meant; how would we know, that we are good, if there was no evil anywhere for comparison. These are just the opposite ends of the same stick. We just have to stop demonizing, that which we don’t like, and simply start choosing, that which we prefer.

Things are always working for us no matter how much contrast there is around us. I have lately been reminding myself just this. There have been some unwanted things in my life to clarify my preferences. Here’s a couple of examples:

First I thought, that I had bought something, that I already had gotten for free. The thought occurred to me at night (as these kinds of thoughts often do). I decided to push my pause-button and told this fear thought, that I would address it sometime in the near future, but not that night. In the mean time I reminded myself, that things are always working out for me. On closer inspection it turned out to be a false thought after all. I learned, that I prefer to be sure before I buy something, that I don’t already have it.

The locker room door to the ladies’ changing room was locked. It was reserved to a group, that was coming later. The only free-of-charge lockers are in that particular locker room. The cashier told, that there would be some lockers left by the bowling alley. So I would have to change in the other locker room and then go back to the bowling alley to place my stuff in one of these lockers. But these lockers require a 50cent token. I reminded myself, that there must be some good in this, as things are always working out for me. So I chose a locker and stuffed my things in it and was just about to find a token, when I realized, that someone had forgotten (or left on purpose) their token in the lock. And it was the only locker with a token! I noticed, that I appreciate these random acts of kindness.

I ordered something, that didn’t arrive. As I eagerly waited for my purchase to arrive, I at the same time patiently reminded myself yet again, that things are always working out for my benefit. Finally I called in and politely told them, what had happened and they immediately promised to send me a new product and promised, that I could even keep the original order free of charge, should it still arrive! I found out, that I preferred being kind and patient over the anger and frustration, that I could have felt in this situation.

We cannot avoid unwanted things happening in our lives, we can only choose, how to react to them. How we react is totally up to us and no-one else. We can get all upset, stress out and lose even sleep over things, or we can concentrate on trusting, that things are always turning out to our best benefit. So next time something unwanted is happening in your life, trust the universe, trust your own resourcefulness to carry you through. Remind yourself, that things are always working out for you! Cause they are!

20140126_084441v

2 thoughts on “About Contrast

Leave a Reply

