About Complaining

For sometime ago I listened to a couple of women, who seemed to be saying only positive things, but were in fact complaining about everything. I have noticed, that much of the interaction in our society seems to be based on complaining. The more we complain, the more eager ears we have. I have often wondered, why it so easy to concentrate on things, that don’t work the way we want them to, instead of those, that do.

Complaining is just comparing in other clothes. When we complain, we are in fact just comparing something to the image we hold in our minds of how we think it should be. Things are as they are, and by complaining about them we are just holding ourselves on the negative side of life.

Complaining will keep our focus on things, that don’t work the way we would want them to. And what we focus on, we will have more of. Complaining will eventually diminish all the good  things in our lives by making them feel smaller and less. Complaining will make us ungrateful.

I myself don’t see any point in wallowing in all the negative things, that may or may not happen on this Earth. Concentrating solely on the bad stuff, that happened or might have happened somewhere else on the planet, and that has no bearing or connection whatsoever on me, will not make me feel good. It will not make me feel secure. And my first priority to myself is to feel good and secure.

I believe, it would be wise to more often think about, what is our motivation, when we share something.  Are we just doing the popular thing and participating in something we don’t ourselves believe in, and that makes us feel bad, or are we sharing the words of kindness and encouragement to each other? At least I will in the future focus even more determinately on what I will say.

IMG_7325

 

2 thoughts on “About Complaining

  1. Gail Mackler says:

    I love this attitude and completely agree with it. Sometime it is a struggle for me not to worry in advance, most times doing so is wasted energy and gets me unnecessarily riled up.
    Thanks for putting this out there, Merja!

    Liked by 1 person

    • merjasuomela says:

      Thank you Gail for your kind comment! I appreciate it a lot. As you said complaining a wasted energy, but so accepted in our society. Have a great day and all the best for you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

