Life is Happening Right Now

When was the last time you appreciated the bowl your meal was served in? The roundness and generosity of it. The practicality and weight of it. The form, color and material. Being in the present moment is easier said than done. Our minds just won’t stand still, take in the moment and appreciate the minute details of it.

This moment right now, right here is actually the only moment we truly have in our lives. Our minds often make it seem the otherwise though. We go on planning tomorrow, or lunch break, or even just the next conversation, that we’re going to have. And planning the future, that might or might not come, is not the only thing we do. Instead of leaving the old stuff to yesterday, where it belongs, we often mull over it. We go on the same old stuff over and over again in our minds, like a broken record.

Living in the present moment is a hard thing to do in this fast time and space, that we are living. But it is the only time we actually get to have. I have lately done a lot of grounding work to be in the moment. Every time I catch myself thinking ahead, I bring myself back to this moment. I love, how Nancy Levin put it. That whatever she was doing was the most important thing. Nothing else needed to be done at that precise moment.

That is how I have been reminding myself too. I am writing now. I am walking now. Now I do the dishes. Reminding myself, that whatever I am doing, it is worth to be here and now, and enjoyed. Ordinary things and events have begun to feel like one of kind type of things. And come to think of it, though it seems we are doing the same kinds of stuff over and over again, they are different each time. The laundry isn’t exactly the same, the dishes, the walks, the conversations. They are all different every time.

So from my own experience I can recommend to find the moment at hand. To enjoy and wonder the minute details of it, that are never the same. That way our moments will gain more dignity and appreciation. And life will never be the same again.

002 uusivuosi

Leave a Reply

